JavaScript, SharePoint

SharePoint Load Multiple Script Dependencies

I’ve been spending a lot of time working in the SharePoint client side object model (CSOM) and one of the things I initially struggled with was waiting for SharePoint client dependencies to load before my code starts executing.

SharePoint 2010 addressed this with the SP.SOD class where I’ve been using the executeFunc method (described on MSDN)

This example waits for the sp.js file to load and when the SP.ClientContext method executes, calls the customCode function.

$(document).ready(function () { 
 SP.SOD.executeFunc('sp.js', 'SP.ClientContext', customCode);
});

function customCode() { 
 // code goes here
}

Very handy, but I soon began to have multiple dependencies that I needed to cater for.

In SharePoint 2013 though, things get better with the SP.SOD.LoadMultiple function. I haven’t been able to find any MSDN article on it yet, but it’s pretty straightforward.

It takes an array of strings and a function callback. It will wait until each script specified in the array is loaded and then execute the function callback.

$(document).ready(function () {
 SP.SOD.loadMultiple(['sp.js', 'clientpeoplepicker.js'], customCode);
});

function customCode() {
 // code goes here
}

Awesome

2 thoughts on “SharePoint Load Multiple Script Dependencies

    1. You are correct. I have jQuery included in my masterpage so for me it is available. Hopefully this clarifies my post for other users

Leave a Reply

